Leiomyoma, Leiomyosarcoma…..What in the World?

16730556_992626797506994_2936240328219611660_n

The Millionheiress Club’s 4th Annual Tea Party!

I have to share this bit of news because it truly changed my life.  A few months ago, I went to my doctor and they detected a mass on my pelvic region.  The doctor ordered more scans/imaging to decipher whether the mass was a leiomyoma or a leiomyosarcoma.  Leiomyoma is also known as uterine fibroid.  It is a benign smooth muscle tumor that very rarely becomes cancerous.  Contrariwise, leiomyosarcoma is a malignant smooth muscle tumor.  It is a rare and aggressive form of uterine cancer.

Naturally, I was flabbergasted; I asked “why me Lord, I’m in the prime of my life”.   I was devastated and distraught, of course.  However, I had to lean on the methods that work best.  I know that God is “The Great Physician” so I turned to prayer and meditation.  I also know the power of surrounding yourselves with loved ones, so I clung to my husband, lovely sisters, mom, and wonderful friends.  I also increased my level of gratitude for everything that I’ve been given—you never what you have until you think you might lose it all.  I begged and besieged God to allow me to be cancer free.  I even bargained with Him, saying that I would use my time more wisely and for His purpose; if he spared me from cancer.   You cannot even imagine my level fear and frustration at this point.  I mean, I always thought that I was a decent person who tries to live right spiritually, physically, and emotionally.

20170220_135457

MY SWEET NIECES

thumbnail_img-372756984

After adapting a positive daily routine of prayer, meditation, hanging out with loved ones, and staying busy; I sopped asking why.  Instead of asking why, I started asking what…what next Lord?  As many of you already know, I’m a multifaceted girl: spiritual, knowledgeable/analytical, and health driven.  I knew that God wanted to get my attention to do something greater; so I rested on that fact.

My sisters, church, friends fasted/prayed with me; and my sweet mommy kept reading Psalm 27 over me.  She kept saying: The Lord is your strength; of whom (or what) shall you be afraid?  She kept telling me to pray and wait for a miracle.  I can go on and on about the journey, but It would take all night—I have to get ready for my surgery.

16797140_10158292070955204_2049819903812723463_o

Office Depot Foundation Women’s Symposium-2017/  Luly B., Micaelle Titus, me, and Mallissa A. Newton

To make a long story short, my oncologist viewed the CT scans and quickly ruled the mass as cancerous and scheduled surgery, as well as a few rounds of chemotherapy pre and/or postoperative.  Being a health scientist and knowing the effect of chemo on the body and healthy cells, I was reserved and very reticent.  Now, don’t get me wrong; there are times where chemotherapy is necessary, but I wanted to be sure what I was up against.  Thankfully, God steered my doctor to present my case to the tumor board and they ordered a biopsy to test the cells.  I won’t keep you in suspense—two days ago, I received the results; which revealed that the mass is benign!!!!   I can’t tell you my relief, I feel as if I have been given a new lease on life; hence this blog entry.  I want to tell you that God is loving and merciful.  I want to publicly thank Him for hearing my cries.

screenshot_2014-06-07-13-02-49-1

To my friends who are facing cancer, He is still there—seek His face.  You will be amazed; he will not let you down.   And for those who have lost loved ones to the battle, remember Psalm 48:14—He will be our guide even to death.  I remember reading Malachi 4:2, which states that the sun will rise with healing in its wings and that I would leap like a young calf.  I spoke that scripture over my life daily as I regularly meditated at the beach before sunrise.  Dear friends, please find scriptures and positive affirmations that comfort you and cling to them.

20170214_071157

My regular morning routine at Hollywood Beach.

I will definitely keep up with the new positive behaviors that I’ve added to my daily routine.  Furthermore, since I’m always on a mission to help others in their health journey; I urge you to honor your temple, protect your vessel/body by eating  the right foods and herbs that have healing properties.  Powerful herbs:

Turmeric – anti-inflammatory agent

Gymnema sylvestre – sugar regulator

Ashwagandha – adaptogenic and energy booster

spices_white_pepper_nutmeg_curry_cloves_1000x523

Finally, there are no current research that proves the cause of tumors or fibroids, which is prevalent in black women.  However, I will do more research on the topic and share my findings with you.

I want to close with these thoughts: Let us come before him with thanksgiving and extol him with music and song.  For the LORD is the great God, the great King above all gods~Psalm 95:2-3.  God is amazing—He comforted me in my time of need, and He heard me when I cried.  Surely it was for my benefit that I suffered such anguish`Isaiah 38:17.  All glory and praise be to Him.

bee

I endeavor to live a healthy life filled with love, laughter, growth, and altruism; not one filled with health scares and anguish~Dr. Karlyn Emile

 

7 thoughts on “Leiomyoma, Leiomyosarcoma…..What in the World?

  1. Thank you for sharing your testimony about how God is working in your life in every circumstance. It’s a true inspiration. We will continue to pray for you and your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a inspiration you are. Thanks for sharing your strength. May you continue to be favored by God’s plans. Prayers and blessings of good health and healing. Love you.
    Shella

    Like

Leave a Reply

