Losing Momentum: Delayed Gratification is Undesirable

15036741_10157792440995046_7281782007211059275_n

Dr. Karlyn G. Emile

I don’t have to tell you that we live in a society that is constantly chasing after instant gratification.  It seems that we seek to run before we can even crawl.  We no longer want to take the time to meticulously do even meaningful things.  For instance, so many of us have dropped the old fashion method of cooking a good meal for restaurant foods.  In the same way, after weight gain is incurred from eating these unhealthy hyperpalatable foods; we want to lose the extra pounds expeditiously.

ccf_tuscanchicken

I’ve recreated this restaurant favorite many times.

While I know this feeling too well, I will not go into a long drawn out debate here.  I just simply want to encourage all of you to return to cooking your own foods, and enjoying it with your loved ones.  I currently cook all of my meals, and I biasly think that my cooking is way better than anything that I could purchase from any restaurant.  I do enjoy eating out every now and then, but I trust my gut and controlling my weight to me and only me.  So, please practice cooking some good meals at home and let me know how it goes.

1200_woman-running-on-road

Now, on the subject of wanting to lose weight fast; it’s probably not the best objective.  You see, when you lose weight too fast; you also gain it back fast.  It is also unsafe to drop too much kg at once.  It is advised that the average person should lose no more than 2 lbs. per week.   Some people may safely lose more depending on their own total body fat, but I digress.  Losing weight and keeping if off requires discipline, commitment, and a winning attitude.

At this time, I would like to shift my focus on those who are thinking that giving up is an option.  Please think about the long-term ramifications that are associated with being even 20% over one’s ideal weight.  It puts you at risk for diabetes, heart disease, hypertension etc.  We did not know better in former years, but now do—let’s do better!  Healthy is the new sexy :).  I mean there is nothing better than a man or a woman who takes great stake in his or her health.  It takes a level of discipline and self-care that is frankly, both impressive and commendable.  It took me 7-8 months to lose my weight, and I’m keeping it off.  Believe me, if I can do it; so can you.

maxresdefault-1

The journey does require a few minor adjustments and some perseverance.  Our health comes first, let us focus cherished ones.  No more of this “it’s the holidays”, or “it’s taking too long”.  No, do what you have to do to get healthy and stay healthy.  You owe it to yourself and your loved ones.  If you need assistance, take advantage of our services by going to the websites below.

Dr Karlyn Emile

Drkarlynemile@gmail.com

786 320 2003

http://www.365healthyeatingandwellness.com/book-online

https://www.facebook.com/groups/677046622447113/?fref=nf

Leave a Reply

