How to Overcome Sweet Cravings Naturally

Dr. TiKa.JPG

Dr. Karlyn G. Emile

I’ve been getting a lot of questions on this topic: How Do I Overcome Sweet Cravings Naturally?  Well, being a former sugar addict myself, I’ve combated this vice more times than I care to remember.   I resigned that I just had a “sweet tooth”.  In reality, I was just caving into the “feel-good” sensation that sugar stimulated in my brain.  Eating sugar raises the serotonin levels in the brain, and thus immediate “feel-good” responses are activated.  Parenthetically, so does exercising 🙂

sweet-tooth

Okay, so eating too much sugar spikes up your blood sugar and takes a toll on the pancreas, liver, and other major organs that processes sugar in the body.  It causes metabolic dysfunction. Eating too much sugar cause myriads of symptoms such as, classic metabolic syndrome. These include weight gain, abdominal obesity, decreased HDL and increased LDL, elevated blood sugar, elevated triglycerides, and high blood pressure. It increases your uric acid levels (Mercola, 2016).

Now, are you ready to find out how to curb your sweet cravings?  Here is what I do.  I eat regularly—plenty of greens, whole grains, and fruits.  I also drink a lot of water to keep me satiated.  These methods usually control my sweet cravings, but if that desire for sugar rears its ugly head; I reach for a piece of fruit.

eating-low-glycemic-fruit-for-snacks-Eliminate-Sugar-Cravings-Naturally.jpg

Yes, keep your favorite piece of fruit handy for when sugar cravings hit.  Train your brain that sweetness from a fruit is wayyyyyyyy better than sweetness from other fatty sugary foods.  Over time, that natural sweetness will fulfill those sweet cravings—it did for me.

Did you know that every 23 seconds another American is diagnosed with Diabetes—every 43 seconds another American is diagnosed with Heart Disease? (American Diabetes Association [ADA], 2016; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [CDC], 2016).

What we eat impacts our health tremendously.  Let’s take our health more seriously.

#365HealthyEatingandWellness #OurHealthComesFirst

Dr. Karlyn G. Emile

(786) 320-2003

Drkarlynemile@gmail.com

https://www.facebook.com/groups/677046622447113/

http://www.365HealthyEatingandWellness.com

Graphics and photography by Alisha Cox Studios:

http://www.alishacoxstudios.com/blank-mpvle

4 thoughts on “How to Overcome Sweet Cravings Naturally

  1. Dr. Emile,
    I applaud you for your openess about diseases related to over consumption of ceratin foods and little or no exercise. Thank you for sharing your journey. I especially liked that you informed your readers with your personal experiences and what some research say about the topic presented. I look foward to reading more of your blog entries.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

